Latest News

SLAEAJ Japan Cup Cricket Festival 2013 completed with huge success.
[02 August, 2013]

Sri Lanka Automobile Exporters Association completed the SLAEAJ Japan Cup Cricket Festival 2013 as planed on the 14th July 2013 at Edogawa Riverside ground. This was held with the blessing of his Excellency Admiral [Rtd.] Wasantha Karannagoda, the ambassador of Sri Lanka in Japan and the invited guest Mr. Asanka Gurusinghe who made a huge contribution to Sri Lankan cricket to win the Cricket world cup in 1996.

The event was organized with the valuable assistance of Sri Lankan Associations and the Embassy of Sri Lanka in Japan. Cricket festival was started with the opening ceremony conducted by Mr. Harsha Gunasena and he invited to Mr. Asanka Gurusinghe for hosting the national flag. As the next item in the agenda organizing committee members of the SLAEAJ and the representatives from Sri Lanka embassy were invited to light up the oil lamp of the ceremony.

After the welcome speech of SLAEAJ president Mr. Jagath Ramanayake and rules of the game explanation by Mr. Cecil Perera tournament was started in the two grounds.

NCC Nagoya
Tokyo Lions
AGM Yokohama
Tochigi S.C
Gunma Y.
Gunma Takasaki
Ashikaga Royal
Tokyo MCC

Out of sixteen teams Funabashi, SLSAJ, Hachioji, Tochigi S.C, Narashino, Gunma Takasaki, Tokyo MCC, Shiroi were selected to the quarter finals. Eventually Funabashi, Tochigi S.C, Gunma Takasaki, Shiroi were selected to semi finals. And the final game was held between Tochigi S.C and the Shiroi teams. Tochigi S.C won the challenge trophy of the tournament for year 2013.

As the iconic event of the festival exhibition match was played between the SLAEAJ members and the Sri Lanka embassy staff. This was attracted by everyone’s attention since money was collected from sponsors according to the batsmen score of each over.

SLAEAJ organizing committee did not forget to thank Mr. Cecil Perera and Mr. Udaya Atukorala for their aspiration and strong mind to promote cricket in Japan.

After the raffle ticket drawn by Mr. Dammika Kulathunga prize giving ceremony was started and it was conducted by Mr. Vikey.

And the short speech of H.E Admiral [Rtd] Wasantha Karannagoda prizes handed over to the winner as follows

Challenge trophy and the Championship trophy won by Tochigi S.C Cricket team.

Runner-up Trophy won by Shiroi Cricket team.

Additionally Best bowler, Best Batsman and Best MVP prizes were given to winners

Warning: mysql_query(): Access denied for user ''@'localhost' (using password: NO) in /home/slaajapan/public_html/common_inc/common_function.php on line 120

Warning: mysql_query(): A link to the server could not be established in /home/slaajapan/public_html/common_inc/common_function.php on line 120
Access denied for user ''@'localhost' (using password: NO)